Quick answer: there is no established BPC-157 dosage. It isn’t an approved drug, and no controlled human trial has tested an effective dose. The handful of human reports used a single 10 mg bladder injection, IV infusions of 10 mg and 20 mg in two people, and planned oral tablets of 1 to 6 mg; most “standard” doses online are extrapolated from rat studies using 10 µg/kg.[5][6][7][1] Any dosing decision belongs with a licensed clinician, and BPC-157 cannot currently be legally compounded.
Our BPC-157 profile covers what it is and how it may work, and the healing peptides hub puts it in context. This page focuses only on doses.
Doses studied in humans
Only a few human reports exist, all small and none placebo-controlled with published results.
| Study | Route | Dose | People | What was reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PCO-02 phase 1 (registered 2015) | Oral tablets | 1 mg tablets: single doses of 1, 3 or 6 tablets; then 3 tablets every 8 hours for 2 weeks | 42 planned | Status unknown; no results posted[7] |
| Knee pain chart review (2021) | Injection into the knee | Dose not stated in the abstract | 16 | 14 of 16 reported pain relief; no control group[4] |
| Interstitial cystitis pilot (2024) | Injections into the bladder wall during cystoscopy | 10 mg total, once | 12 women | Most reported symptom resolution; no adverse events reported; no control group[5] |
| IV safety pilot (2025) | IV infusion over 1 hour | 10 mg on day 1, 20 mg on day 2 | 2 | No changes in blood tests; no adverse events reported[6] |
| Rotator cuff trial (registered 2026) | Daily injection under the skin for 90 days | Not stated in the registry | 30 planned | Not yet recruiting[8] |
These studies can’t tell you what dose works. The knee and bladder reports came from private clinics without placebo groups, which makes it impossible to separate drug effects from placebo effects or natural recovery. Our review of BPC-157 clinical trials goes through each in detail.
Doses used in animal studies (not tested in people)
Almost everything known about BPC-157 comes from rodent studies, mostly from one research group in Zagreb, Croatia.[1][2] Their typical regimens were:
| Animal study | Route | Doses |
|---|---|---|
| Rat Achilles tendon cut (2003) | Injection into the abdominal cavity, once daily | 10 µg/kg, 10 ng/kg or 10 pg/kg[1] |
| Rat muscle-tendon junction injury (2021) | Abdominal injection, or in drinking water | 10 µg/kg or 10 ng/kg; water at 0.16 µg/mL or 0.16 ng/mL (about 12 mL per rat per day)[2] |
| Rat and dog pharmacokinetics (2022) | IV and intramuscular | Several ascending doses to study blood levels[3] |
Two things stand out. The doses span a thousandfold range (micrograms to nanograms per kilogram) with similar reported benefits, which is unusual and hard to interpret. And benefits in rats often don’t carry over to people; see animal vs human peptide studies.
Why rat doses don’t convert neatly to human doses
FDA guidance for first-in-human trials uses body-surface-area scaling to convert animal doses into a “human equivalent dose.” For rats, the factor works out to roughly one-sixth.[11] By that math, 10 µg/kg in a rat corresponds to about 1.6 µg/kg in a person, or roughly 100 µg for a 60 kg adult.
But this conversion is meant only to pick a cautious starting dose for a supervised safety trial, after full toxicology testing. It doesn’t predict an effective dose, and that toxicology package for BPC-157 hasn’t been published. Doses circulating online are not derived from any controlled human trial.
How long BPC-157 lasts
In rats and dogs, intact BPC-157 had a half-life of under 30 minutes after injection and was broken down quickly into small fragments and amino acids.[3] After intramuscular injection, about 14% to 19% reached the bloodstream in rats and 45% to 51% in dogs.[3] No human pharmacokinetic data have been published. For how routes compare, see BPC-157 oral vs injectable.
Why dosing advice online varies so much
If you search for BPC-157 doses, you’ll find numbers that differ several-fold, quoted in micrograms per day, per kilogram or per injection, with schedules ranging from days to months. There are three reasons for this:
- No reference dose exists. Approved drugs have a label built on dose-finding trials. BPC-157 has none, so every protocol is someone’s guess.
- Animal results don’t point to one dose. The Zagreb studies reported benefits at doses a thousand times apart, so they don’t identify an optimal amount even in rats.[1][2]
- Products vary. Without pharmaceutical manufacturing standards, the amount of peptide in a vial may not match its label, and FDA has raised concerns about impurities in compounded versions.[9]
What a proper dose study would need
To establish a real dose, researchers would first run toxicology studies in animals, then a phase 1 trial giving rising doses to small groups of healthy volunteers while measuring blood levels and side effects, and finally phase 2 trials comparing several doses with placebo in people with a specific injury.[11] The registered oral PCO-02 study followed the first part of that design, but its results were never posted.[7] The rotator cuff trial registered in 2026 would add a placebo-controlled comparison, though its registry entry doesn’t list a dose.[8] Until results like these are published, any BPC-157 dose is unproven.
Legal status and safety checklist
- Not approved: BPC-157 is not an FDA-approved drug for any use.
- Compounding: it isn’t on FDA’s list of substances pharmacies may compound. FDA’s advisory committee discussed it at its July 23-24, 2026 meeting, but the committee’s views are not binding.[10] See BPC-157 legal status for the latest.
- Sport: it is prohibited by the World Anti-Doping Agency at all times.[12]
If you’re considering BPC-157, these questions are worth raising with a clinician:
- Is there an approved treatment with proven results for my injury or condition?
- What is known about BPC-157’s safety for someone with my health history, including any cancer history, since it promotes blood vessel growth in animal studies?[13]
- How would we judge whether it’s working, and when would we stop?
- Where would the product come from, and how would its purity be verified? Our guide to how to read a peptide COA explains what testing can and can’t show.
For how BPC-157 compares with its most common partner, see BPC-157 vs TB-500 and our TB-500 dosage guide.